PDA

View Full Version : Balene circulars... you move me!

KristiMetz
05-26-2006, 11:53 PM
I'm pretty new to this whole knitting thing, but I bought a huge lot of knitting stuff from someone for dirt cheap, and so I don't have to buy new knitting needles very often (they're mainly metal needles).

So, for Knitty's "Topi" hat I ended up buying the following :

Balene circular needle
Boye metal circular needle
Clover bamboo circular needle

Maybe I'm crazy, but I just loved that Balene needle! The pattern uses tons of increases, and the funky tip on the Balene really made the kfb sooooo much easier to do, without splitting yarn!

I definitely hated the Boye's. Blech. Yuck. Very stiff, my hands just ached when I put down the knitting.

The Clover's were very nice too, although I didn't love them as much as the Balene's.

So here's my question... I hadn't even heard of these needles being mentioned as good ones (the Balene's that is), and I only got them because it was the only brand at Hobby Lobby in the size I needed. So is there something I'm missing about these, that most people don't like them?

I'm just curious as it will help me learn more about knitting. :)

And, why is it Boye seems so popular? I mean, I really truly hated that circular needle. It was a 16 incher though. Maybe the bigger ones aren't bad?

bjc1050
05-27-2006, 09:09 AM
I have the Boye Needlemaster set and am not exactly thrilled with them. I MUCH prefer the Susan Bates Silva Lume circulars or Addi Turbos. I also have some of the Balene needles and don't really like them as well as the Susan Bates circulars. The Balene needles are kind of disappointing because I have a Balene crochet hook that is one of my favorites. Was expecting to like the Balene Knitting needles as well. However, they don't seem to be quite the same material as my crochet hook.

You're lucky that you were able to buy a single Boye 16" needle to try first.

Ingrid
05-27-2006, 09:28 AM