PDA

View Full Version : OT-MIL is NUTS and is driving me CRAZY- warning it's LONG!!

knitwit
06-15-2006, 06:59 PM
My MIL is driving me Crazy. Her past antics have included telling me that I have a fat a--, smoking in my car (even though I am allergic to cigarette smoke), not attending our wedding, ignoring our anniversary & my birthday, purchasing a house with another realtor (even though I showed her tons of homes, gave her the mtg and closing atty info, etc), and the list goes on.... she continues to scheme against me and try to make my life miserable. I try to be the "bigger man" while she takes a blow torch to the proverbial olive branch..... and well let's say this has caused my marriage a boatload of stress for no reason.

I am just at a loss for what to do in this particular situation.....
SO, here goes-I am a real estate agent and although she chose not to work with me when she bought her last property (for reasons that are still unknown to me) On June first, she contacted me and asked me to represent her in a new transaction. I told her that I would need to think about it and that I would call her back. The reasons were two fold- 1. I really wasnt sure I wanted to work with her- and wanted to talk it through with my DH- the last experience caused the entire family not to speak for almost 6 mos. and 2- I was in the process of interviewing w/ a builder and therefore would no longer be able to help her if I was offered a job w/ the builder. Which I was heavily considering and had actually made it to the offer stage. I felt it was important to make this part of my decision to work w/her since the proposed new job would start Jul 1.

SOOOOO.....after careful thought, we (DH & I) decided why not? I'm on commission and every transaction helps. If she can close on the new property by the end of the month- GREAT. If not, I'll figure it out.