PDA

View Full Version : Can circulars totally replace straights?

skNYC
06-20-2006, 01:33 PM
that is, can I do away with spns and dpns.

Jan in CA
06-20-2006, 01:38 PM
Well, technically yes. You can use magic loop or two circs in the place of DPNs and of course you can use circs in place of straights. Now that I learned how to use DPNs though I prefer them for some things. I'm still learning though.

Jenelle
06-20-2006, 01:40 PM
Circular needles CAN replace straights. They are awesome for bigger projects such as a blanket or knitting wide panels. But you can knit back and forth on circ's like you do regular straight needles, you don't connect though.

And the best part about circ's is that you'll never forget a needle! ;)

brendajos
06-20-2006, 01:51 PM
well i think you are still going to want to keep your DPNs around for things like icord at the very least....but i have never bought regular straight SPNs...never even attempted to use them.

rebecca
06-20-2006, 03:39 PM
I use circs almost exclusively...like bren said, my dpns are the only other needles I use. As a matter of fact, I'm going to order some of the cool new dpns from knitpicks...and the interchangeable set ;)

KellyK
06-20-2006, 03:50 PM
Yup.... I only use circs and DPNs. In fact, when I have tried to teach beginners' classes at the LYS, I ALWAYS drop the right needle! :roflhard:

cozy
06-20-2006, 04:14 PM
I guess so, but it's something about the "tradition" of straights that keep them my favorites.

jessi_9783
06-20-2006, 05:51 PM
I only own one pair of straights and they came in a how to knit kit. I use circs exclusively. As for DPNs, I don't own a single set. For icord I just use my Denise's without the cord. For small diameter knitting I use the MagicLoop method.

Hey Rebecca, I just placed my order for the KnitPicks interchangeables. I can't wait to get them. I hope I like them better than my crappy Boye set.

sfavereau
06-20-2006, 06:03 PM