PDA

View Full Version : HELP with "My So-Called Scarf"

Lily1998688
06-20-2006, 06:55 PM
Hello everyone,

I posted this on a different thread and was told to repost under a new topic http://www.knittinghelp.com/knitting/forum/viewtopic.php?p=192273#192273

Any help would be greatly appreciated! =)

Hi everyone,

Looks like this is a pretty old thread! I found this pattern also from the same website and came to this message board for help. I'm new to knitting, but I think I understand what to do, but for some reason my scarf is starting off looking a lot different than I had pictured. To be extra clear, here are the steps I took:

CO 30 stitches
Row 1: K1, SL1, K1, PSSO onto left needle, K1 into back of passed over stitch, SL1, K1, PSSO onto left needle ......... until last stitch, K1

Row 2: P2TOG, do not slip stitches off, P first stitch, slip off the first 2 purled together stitches, repeat

I'm using Manos wool and US9 needles. I've been knitting the stitches semi-tight to make the stitches easier to knit. Should I be making the stitches really loose to make it easier? Or should I try larger needles? Also, I'm finding it super hard to stay consistent. What should I do? Any advice would be great! Thanks in advance! =)

brendajos
06-20-2006, 07:00 PM
well a picture of what you are seeing in your work would be helpful if you can. but the one thing i would say is that if you are consciously trying to knit tight or loose your work is definitely not going to be consistent. i would just make sure you are knitting naturally!

Ingrid
06-20-2006, 07:11 PM
Here (http://www.knittinghelp.com/knitting/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12718&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=called+scarf) is another discussion about this scarf that may help.

callmesusan
06-20-2006, 08:50 PM
Hi. I made that scarf and it is my favorite! I had a lot of trouble getting it going. Keep at it, even if you have to start over a few times like I did!! It will be worth the effort.