PDA

View Full Version : Yarn Snobbery

jamiejeans
06-22-2006, 08:36 AM
Hi Everyone

was curious if anyone has run across knitters who have yarn snobbery? I work with a knitter who would never knit with acrylics or acrylic blends, or yarn bought at craft chain stores. And the local yarn shop that has high end brands has employees that were horrified when I said I got needles and yarn at AC Moore! Mind you, this store was marking down all their Debbie Bliss because they don't feel it's "good enough". My impression was that Debbie Bliss brand is popular and good quality.

I'm fairly new to knitting (started about 7 months ago), so I never realized there being such strong feelings! I have to say that I knit a large afghan in Lion Brand chenille that came out great, and is holding up very well. I have recently purchased some silk yarns for big bucks.... but hope they hold up as well as I would expect them to for the price!

What are your thoughts on this?

Jax3303
06-22-2006, 08:52 AM
I've come across yarn snobs, and knitters who refuse to use anything other than red heart acrylic super saver. I admit, I am a little bit of a yarn snob. I don't flat-out refuse to use cheap yarns, but I definately prefer to use better yarns, and avoid 100% acrylics as much as possable (the exception here for me is Carron Simply soft-it's great for baby things). For me, it's all about how the yarn feels while sliding through my fingers. And yarn quality and fiber content really does make a huge difference in the finished product. Over time, an individual knitter figures out which yarns they prefer and, IMHO, yarn snobbery is nothing more than personal preferance. If they (the yarn store snobs) want to be judgemental yarn snobs, then they will loose a lot of business over time simply becasue of their attitude when talking to customers. Simple fact is that the most expensive 'chic' yarns aren't always the best yarn for a project, sometimes, it's the lion brand.

Nikki
06-22-2006, 09:00 AM