PDA

View Full Version : How did you get started?

jamiejeans
06-29-2006, 09:41 PM
Was curious when everyone started knitting? Who taught you? What made you want to knit?

I have been knitting for about 8 months or so. I can't remember exactly what turned me onto it, as I do not know anyone other than a few people at work that knit. I think it had something to do with scrapbooking and all the trips to the craft stores, etc. I saw yarn and thought it would be fun to do something with it.

I learned through a DVD called "The Compelte Beginners Guide to Knitting". You can get it on eBay or the website www.yarnbag.com
I highly recommend it. I also have been watching the video's on this site, which have helped with learning some more advanced techniques.

Jan in CA
06-29-2006, 09:49 PM
I started in October 2005. I used to crochet, but never liked the sameness of the look so I wanted to learn to knit and I did. ;)

Jax3303
06-29-2006, 09:56 PM
I have wanted to learn to knit ever since I was 8 and saw the mom of one of my friends doing it. I never got around to asking her to teach me. A friend taught me to crochet in 2003, and being the good little gateway drug that is crochet, it just drove me to want to knit even more. So finally in February of 2005, wanting something new to keep my hands busy with during the endless hours of braxton hicks contractions, I went out and bought a Boye learn to knit kit. A week later I had not only a brand new scarf, but also my DD. :inlove:

Julie
06-29-2006, 09:57 PM
I learned right here from Amy's videos. She taught me just about everything I know. :D

The funny thing is, my mom is a lifetime knitter -- she learned so young that she doesn't remember how old she was. My entire life she was always knitting something, usually intricate aran sweaters. Yet I had no interest whatsoever in knitting until a year an a half ago. Go figure.....

CateKnits
06-29-2006, 10:09 PM