PDA

View Full Version : Bamboo??

Nocturna
07-12-2006, 03:25 AM
I'm still relatively new to knitting, and i'm in the middle of my first hat. I guess I'm a reeeeeally tight knitter, because the tip of one of the needles on my plastic circs broke on me. :oops:

I'm going to exchange those needles... and I want to try bamboo... but I'm scared they'll break!! So what do you think? Should I leave the bamboo and just go for the aluminum? Or is bamboo just as strong??

Thanks for the opinions!

Virtuella
07-12-2006, 04:26 AM
I think you should try bamboo, because the work will be difficult to knit that tight, and you will learn your hands to not knit that tight!

Ingrid
07-12-2006, 08:15 AM
I've never had bamboo break and I much prefer them over metal dpns because they don't try to slide out the way the metal ones can do.

KellyK
07-12-2006, 08:23 AM
I prefer bamboo, also. And, in my experience, it is normal for a new knitter to knit fairly tightly. You'll loosen up as you gain confidence and try different ways of wrapping your yarn around your fingers. You'll find that the yarn can kinda create its own tension without you having to pull or "snug up" anything. :thumbsup:

mulene
07-12-2006, 08:51 AM
I also love Bamboo needles. I recommend them to people starting out as it is harder to knit tight with them (I too am a tight knitter) and they feel great in the hand.

Stonington
07-12-2006, 09:08 AM
I love Bamboo. I find that my hands do not get sore---the wood is light and feels good to work with. I started out knitting very very tight, but as I knitted more and my mum told me "relax, this is FUN!" lol my knitting has loosened up hmmm or maybe I have :thinking:

anne
Sebago, ME

becjo
07-12-2006, 09:55 AM