PDA

View Full Version : Have the yarn now I need a tank pattern

hillerkim
08-02-2006, 10:59 AM
Hi all!

Wondering if you guys could help point me in the right direction.

I just recieved 10 skeins of Knit Picks Vacation and want to make a tank for myself. This is first REAL clothing project for myself so I want to do it right.

I'm not a beginner knitter (that sounded weird) but I'm not super advanced either. Plus I just can't figure out how to see if the patterns will work with the yarn without too much problem. The yarn show 3 - 3.5 stitches per inch. Oh yeah, and I'm looking for a tank that isn't super skimpy but don't want it too "old lady'ish" ;)

I hope that isn't too tall of an order. I know I'm sort of asking a lot here but everyone on this site is always super helpful so I thought I'd start here.

Thanks a ton!

hillerkim
08-03-2006, 10:52 AM
Never mind. I think I found one that will work.

Thanks.

Kim

gardenmommy
08-03-2006, 04:45 PM
And....? Which pattern is it? ;)

hillerkim
08-03-2006, 06:01 PM
Hi. It's this one:

http://www.yarnmarket.com/yarn/Artyarns_Free-Lacy_Silk_Tank_Top_Free-1981.html

Thanks for asking. Now, I just have to get my gumption up and get it done. :D

First I have a bag to do for a friends sister. Priorities, priorites. Really should look at my laundry too. ;)

Have a good night!

candicane
08-04-2006, 08:37 AM
I don't know if KP Vacation will work with that pattern. Vacation is a bulky weight and I *think* the Art Yarns Silk Rhapsody is a worsted weight. It might make too stiff of a fabric and not have the same drape as in the photo.

Candice

hillerkim
08-04-2006, 09:22 AM
Ahhh, well that's a bummer. :(

I was looking for a tank pattern that was fairly simple with a little bit of "something" to dress it up a bit. I guess I'll have to go back to the drawing board unless anyone has suggestions.

Now I'm kinda sorry I bought the yarn because I'm not sure what to do with it now.

Thanks for the tip Candice.

gardenmommy