PDA

View Full Version : OT - i have to buy a computer... NEW Q on pg 2

hedgehog
08-04-2006, 07:52 PM
Ick.. i need to buy a computer (laptop)... It's time.. my old one has had it. I had a Gateway but i wasn't too keen on it.. so i'm looking for other options...

I HATE researching computer crap and seeing as i haven't had to do this in a while i'm really crappy about it... Is there a big preference for Dell over HP or vice versa? What about IBM?

What kind of laptop do you have and do you like it?

-hh

brownishcoat
08-04-2006, 08:44 PM
I love my Dell. I waited until they put them on sale for $499 and I didn't do any upgrades. After shipping, it was less than $600.

Jan in CA
08-04-2006, 08:45 PM
My two daughters and I have Dell laptops. My dad, two brothers and I also have Dell desktops. They've been great!

brownishcoat
08-04-2006, 08:47 PM
:thumbsup: My desktop is a Dell, too, Jan!

Julie
08-04-2006, 09:11 PM
I've been doing IT work for about 10 years and I only buy from Dell...they have definitely earned my loyalty. IMHO, when/if you have a problem, they resolve it. I've bought over 30 of them, most of them refurbs, and have only had issues with a handful, and they've always resolved things to my satisfaction, and quickly. No one's perfect...I had one pretty harrowing experience with tech support, lol...but overall I'm a huge fan. :thumbsup:

Friskums
08-04-2006, 09:40 PM
(I have personal issues with Dell. One being that they outsource their tech and customer support. :? )

A lot of companies do that now, it's not just Dell. I've had to get customer support from Dell due to a monitor issue. The call was answered promptly, he spoke english and was unable to resolve my problem so a new monitor was sent and received within 36 hours. Excellent service IMO.

skNYC
08-04-2006, 10:12 PM
It really depends on your personal taste and your budget. If you don't mind spending a little more and you carry your laptop a lot, I would go with an IBM. Otherwise Dell is very cool.