PDA

View Full Version : WOW!

saracidaltendencies
08-11-2006, 02:16 AM
I'm still fairly new to knitting...I know the most basic of basics like the knit and purl stitch, rib stitch, stockinette, binding off and a few increases and decreases...To date I've made 3 scarves and 2 kerchiefs...Both quite simple projects...Of course I want to continue to learn more but has anyone else or does anyone else sometimes feel completely overwhelmed by ALL the different techniques and, (I'm sure it is, stupid question ahead...lol) is it really possible to know every technique there is? I've been reading Stitch n Bitch and coming here for the videos so I'm taking it all one step at a time (doing the projects in the Stitch n Bitch book at the end of each chapter) but sometimes it seems there's just no way I'm going to learn everything I'll need to know to make what I want to make...I've always been an impatient person and often get in way over my head in things I do...I want to do something and I want to know all I have to do right off the bat, which I know is completely unrealistic...lol...However, I refuse to stop knitting...I know it takes patience and I really have learned a ton in the short amount of time I have been knitting but sometimes I just feel sooooooo lost...lol...

AidanM
08-11-2006, 03:29 AM
I think it's possible to know everything. I mean, our resident guru Ingrid has an answer to dang near everything..

mulene
08-11-2006, 06:37 AM
The best thing I can say is this; TRY everything! Practice it first - make a swatch (I didn't the first time I did short row shaping across the bust and it was a disaster but I didn't give up - I've almost finished the front of another shell where the short row shaping *looks* like it has worked (I'll know when I've finished).