PDA

View Full Version : Knitting book recomendations?

itscryttle
08-20-2006, 10:03 PM
I am wanting a nice knitting book with great patterns in it. Nothing too difficult. I want something with patterns I will actually USE.

I recently ran across a book called:

LION BRAND YARN: JUST WRAPS: 30 PATTERNS TO KNIT AND CROCHET
by Klose, Stephanie and Maguire, Cathy

anyone know if this book is worth it?

Any other recommendations???

08-20-2006, 10:37 PM
I would recommend the book, Mason Dixon Knitting. I'm basically a beginner myself and I found their patterns to be quite easy.

Good Luck!

caviar
08-20-2006, 11:08 PM
Hey, is there a way we can sticky this topic, as it comes up so often? Maybe rank our book suggestions by beginning, intermediate, advanced? Or has this already been done somewhere and I just haven't explored enough?

Kirstin

hedgehog
08-20-2006, 11:40 PM
Stitch 'N Bitch and Stitch 'N Bitch Nation are both designed for beginner to intermediate knitters. The contain diverse, funky patterns (sweaters, mittens, scarves, bikinis.. you name it!) AND they are full of knitting 'how-to' descriptions...

I use mine all the time as a reference AND for the patterns.

-hh

momwolf
08-20-2006, 11:56 PM
Now you're Knitting by Leisure Arts.Found this book at Sams Club for $15.00 Nice hard cover.165 projects and 99 knit stitches.I even got a knit gauge tool included with it.Everything you could want to knit is in here. Easy to intermediate.588 pages. GREAT BOOK

KristiMetz
08-21-2006, 12:28 AM
I also think both of the Stitch 'N Bitch books are great.

If you are a plus-size gal like me, the girl Big Girl Knits is pretty much a necessity! Even for non-knitters! :) There is some wonderful information on choosing stuff that looks good, as well as some really fabulous patterns (including a purse I really must make someday).