PDA

View Full Version : KP's Lace Foulard

cookworm
08-26-2006, 11:37 AM
Has anybody knitted the Lace Foulard featured in the Fall 2006 issue of the Knit Pick's catalog (page 45)? It's from Margrit Lohrer's book, "Morehouse Farm Merino Knits". The reason I'm asking is because the pictured shawl is made from KP's Alpaca Cloud yarn which is a laceweight yarn, and they said it's double stranded. To me--and I'm not an expert knitter by a LONG shot!--it looks like the shawl is just made from a simple garter stitch, and not only that, that it's made from a much thicker yarn (I can't imagine that laceweight yarn doubled would give this thick of a look to the stitches). Am I wrong here? Has anybody made this? Given the name of the article (lace foulard), it would indicate to me that it's a lace pattern, but again, I can't tell by looking at the picture. If you've made it, how hard is it? Given the dimensions listed, I'm guessing it's a square that the model in the picture has simply folded in half and wrapped around her shoulders.

The thought of using the Alpaca Cloud for this project appeals to me greatly. I have some that I bought for another project but realized I'm not ready yet for laceweight yarn; however, if you double the strands for this project and use a larger needle, I'm very excited to be able to use the yarn I bought rather than send it back...it's such beautiful yarn, and I'm now very addicted to alpaca!

Ingrid
08-26-2006, 01:11 PM
:?? It could be that when held up to the light the scarf looks lacy. You'd think they'd have a more reasonable picture of it. I'd start it and see if the dimensions with the Alpaca Cloud seems to be close to what they say.

I've been to Morehouse Farm. Not that it matters, I just like to say it. :teehee:

cookworm
08-26-2006, 01:37 PM