PDA

View Full Version : I wish there was a way......

stitchwitch
08-30-2006, 04:31 PM
to spin cat hair! I sure do have alot of it! :roflhard: I don't know how my cat has any fur left. You would think she would be naked with all the fur on the tile floor. Wish I could spin some up and make something out of it! :roflhard:

rebecca
08-30-2006, 04:47 PM
I've heard of people spinning cat and dog hair...I believe it has to be a certain length, though.

knit-errant
08-30-2006, 08:24 PM
No kidding. I have four cats and each time I'm done vacuuming, I think that if I was a better mad scientist I could build another cat.

Anyway, I picked up some magazine this month (I think it was a British one) that had an article on spinning cat and dog hair. I think it said that cat and dog hair by itself can't be spun very well, but if you mix it with wool it works.

Somewhere -- I wish I could remember where -- I came across some Japanese lady's site where she showed little toy dogs and cats she crocheted with dog and cat hair. I guess she specialized in taking hair from peoples' pets and making little replicas of them.

Nikki
08-31-2006, 09:21 AM
I'll see you 4 cats and raise you a black lab with thyroid problems. First she lost a bunch of hair, then she got the meds she needed, then she lost all the yucky hair and re-grew good hair. Now it's time to get rid of that summer hair and start with the winter coat. When I go to the garage and empty the vac container I often wonder if I can knit another dog.
Nikki

Liliyarn
08-31-2006, 11:39 AM
I spin my cat's hair....She's a long coat Ragdoll. Very soft, much like Angora. I add her fur in with wool. I've never spun short coat fur. So, spin away!!!

cookworm
08-31-2006, 02:19 PM
We have two Labs--I'm right there wishing there was a way to better put all of that fur to use! :lol: