PDA

View Full Version : baby squares afghan

knitfreda7
09-03-2006, 04:49 PM
would like to knit a baby afghan all in one piece but so it looks like separate colored squares sewn together. Does anyone have a pattern or suggestion as to how to do this? I like knitting but have no luck sewing knitted pieces together. Thank you

mintdee
09-03-2006, 04:58 PM
You could knit a square pick up stitches, knight another square ect...
I have seen patterns out there like that but for the life of me can't think of where I saw them.
Maybe someone else has an idea? :??

knitfreda7
09-03-2006, 05:54 PM
thanks, but how do I change colors? I really need a pattern as I'm just learning.

Shavon
09-03-2006, 10:57 PM
I haven't actually made this one yet, but I really want to try it and I think this is the kind of thing you're wanting:

http://www.berroco.com/exclusives/mu_shu/mu_shu.html

Not exactly the colors or yarn someone may use for a baby blanket, but you could definitely substitute another yarn - the size would be a good baby blanket size, though. I hate sewing, and not very good at it, so I will only make blankets that can be done in one piece! Too much of a headache for me otherwise. Hope this helps!

knitfreda7
09-04-2006, 12:42 AM
Thanks for the pattern idea, but I was thinking of a pattern where you knit straight across covering the entire width of the afghan. or would that be too difficult with several different colors?

chan58
09-04-2006, 10:17 AM
I finished my very first baby blanket in Baby Cloud Yarn Pale Blue and I used the Diagonal Pattern like for Dishcloths and it came out fabulous. I will post a pic when I get it scanned later this week. This was very easily knit on 36" circular needles (without joining) I would recommed this pattern to anyone who wants to knit an easy baby blanket!! :happydance:

knitfreda7
09-04-2006, 11:07 AM