PDA

View Full Version : I don't like worsted weight yarns!

aineepooh1
09-03-2006, 07:21 PM
I am a beginner who has been knitting for 2 whole months. I have discoverd by trial and error that I PREFER chunky and superchunky yarns and needles. I bought some worsted weight yarns and size 8 circular needles over the weekend and tried them out. They are ok.. but I prefer the big, easy, chunky yarns and big, easy, chunky needles. I know many projects are designed fo rthe worsted weight which is the average wt for a yarn and size 8 needles.. but I don't like them as welll.!!! I want my big fat, yarn!! :teehee: :eyebrow:

aylaanne
09-03-2006, 07:34 PM
Hey, more power to you. I have a lot of chunky yarn, and I prefer that for some projects (I don't really want to try to knit an adult afgan out of WW yarn)....but then I learned how to knit lace, and, well.....we won't talk about it. :oops: :teehee:

Celine
09-03-2006, 07:35 PM
Well thats good you know what you like. :cheering: There are plenty of thick and chunky yarns out there. I too like to use some of them for certain things I'm knitting.

If you ever run out of ideas there are knitting books out there just for using chunky yarns. :happydance:

suzeeq
09-03-2006, 07:38 PM
I don't like using 8s either, but that's never stopped me from using worsted weight. Try knitting worsted on size 10 or 10.5s. Sometimes 11s work too. My favorites are the metric sizes in between, the 7 and 7.5 mm. I even use them on yarn that's suppose to be DK weight. The knit is looser, but I prefer that to a tighter knit anyway.

sue

gardenmommy
09-03-2006, 08:43 PM
You can always double or triple up your strands of worsteds to make an approximate chunky-weight too! :thumbsup:

aineepooh1
09-03-2006, 08:44 PM
How do you do that? :pout:

Braden
09-03-2006, 08:45 PM
Well, you know what you like, and you stick with it. Perfect.

brendajos
09-03-2006, 08:52 PM
How do you do that? :pout: