PDA

View Full Version : Desperate for pattern design help (pretty please)

bree nan
09-15-2006, 01:29 PM
I am asking this anyplace i can think of (and obviously in places I lurk LOL).
I really want to knit my husband some coasters fro his birthday next week. I want to knit in wool and felt them but the catch is I want them to be in the shape of the pittsburgh Steelers logo. It's a logo with diamondlike shapes and I wanted to do 3 coasters in red, yellow and blue.

I have no clue where in the shape I would start knitting. If I start at the point and do increases and then decreases what kinds of increases and decreases would I do? I am new to knitting and have done only hats and pants so far but I am willing to try anything because I'mtoo stupid to realize at this point what i'm getting myself into :roflhard:

CarmenIbanez
09-15-2006, 01:41 PM
Check out the videos on the increases and decreases. They are especially good for your project because they are all knit in diamonds!

Increases (www.knittinghelp.com/knitting/basic_techniques/increase.php)
Decreases (www.knittinghelp.com/knitting/basic_techniques/decrease.php)

bree nan
09-15-2006, 01:43 PM
Thanks! The issue though (for me anyway) is that they aren't tru diamonds - the edges come in a bit. I may have a breakdiown by the time I'm done with this!

CarmenIbanez
09-15-2006, 01:46 PM
Isn't it frustrating when the smallest little project ends up being the most complicated. I am going to go look at the logo and see if I can think of some ideas.

CarmenIbanez
09-15-2006, 01:47 PM
Okay, Here is what I would do. I would make the piece a diamond, and then use colorwork to do the actual little shape within it. Does that make sense?

bree nan
09-15-2006, 01:47 PM
:wall: I didn't even sop to think that people wouldn't just know their logo. My husband will be heartbroken!

http://www.sportslogos.net/logo.php?lo=970

bree nan
09-15-2006, 01:49 PM