PDA

View Full Version : Hi! I'm new and have a question

Anastasia Beaverhausen
09-16-2006, 11:11 AM
Hello, I've been reading for a day or so and am so glad I found this place :)

I'm brand new to knitting. I'm working on my first project which is a ribbed (knit 2, purl 2) scarf in Caron Simply Soft. It's looking good and I love knitting so far.

I have three questions:

1. I want to make two afghans for Christmas presents and was wondering how easy is it for a brand new knitter to knit simply soft with 3 threads help together? I want to use 2 SS country blue and a SS cream but I'm worried that knitting with 3 yarns held together will be difficult and aggravating.

2. Is Caron Simply Soft a good choice for a soft (not itchy at all) afghan that will wash and wear well?

3. Would doing the afghan in a cable knit be too ambitious for my second project as a new knitter?

knitaddict
09-16-2006, 11:27 AM
I can't answer all of your questions, but I'll do my best. :) I've never used Caron SS, but I've heard wonderful things about its softness.

It's no different to knit with 2 or 3 strands together than to knit with one. My 2nd project was an afghan for ds in a basketweave stitch with 2 strands held together throughout the project. The only problem I had was that it was a really rough acrylic yarn and my hand got sore from the rubbing. I don't know that you'll have that problem with SS.

As for whether an afghan is too ambitious (sp)... My 2nd and 3rd projects were afghans. My belief has always been that the best way to learn is to jump right in and do it. I've learned a lot of really complicated stuff in the 7 short months that I've knitted because I just go for it. So my advice? GO FOR IT!!! :) If you get stuck you can always come here for help. If you get bored, you can always take a break and start a different small project.

dustinac
09-16-2006, 11:32 AM