PDA

View Full Version : Shoulda, woulda, coulda

frostywolf
10-07-2006, 11:55 PM
So, knitting newbie here. Been at it for a couple of weeks just on my breaks at work and maybe one night a week at home. First WIP is a scarf w/lion brand homespun. (I was hoping that texture would hide any mistakes). It's about three and a half feet right now, but since I am just doing it in garter stitch, I got a bit bored. It is serving it's purpose, though. I was having tension issues and thought a single stitch scarf would be good to practice with.

Anyway, since that scarf is looking pretty good, I decided I would make two of my nieces scarves for Christmas. I went to my LYS and got some 1/2 wool, 1/2 nylon yarn (washable was a must for them). Different colorway for each. I tried a swatch of that scrunchable scarf pattern and it looked good with the yarn so I started Hannah's scarf. Yesterday at work, I was knitting away on break, and realized I picked up a stich. Now, I bookmarked a couple vids/articles on how to recognize, fix these things. Figured I could get it myself from memory. I saw where the extra was, but I couldn't figure out how I picked up an extra. Figured I'd just back up one row and continue. Oops. Couldn't remember how to put the needle back through without twisting stitches. Needless to say, I lost about 2 1/2-3 inches on the scarf (it was only about 5 inches before, I'd just started it). Grrrr. I'm still pretty slow, because I tend to split the yarn a bit and I'm trying to make sure I don't do that. I'm not giving up, though!