PDA

View Full Version : problems with doll poncho pattern

rorygilmore
10-12-2006, 10:19 PM
I'm trying to knit this:

http://majorknitter.typepad.com/photos/poncho_mania/cimg0662.html

But once I get it on the double pointed needles and start knitting on them, it's not in Stocking net sts but in knit sts, and the stocking net is on the in side of the poncho, I don't understand what I'm going wrong.. This is my first project on double points but I have knitting in the round before on hats. Please help ,me, this is driving me crazy. Thanks!!!!!

knitqueen
10-12-2006, 10:24 PM
When you hold the double points in your hands, you need to be knitting with the needles closest to you so that you are knitting on the outside of the 'round'. If you knit with the needles furthest from you will end up with what should be the right side of the stockinette stitch showing on the inside of the poncho. I suspect this is what is happening.

rorygilmore
10-12-2006, 10:28 PM
Thank you thank you thank you!!! Now I have to start over, i riped out what I had knit.. it was mocking me. :wall:

rorygilmore
10-13-2006, 10:25 AM
So i tryed knitting with the needles towards me but its still coming out the same.. :wall:

janelanespaintbrush
10-13-2006, 10:27 AM
I think your knitting is inside-out. This link (http://www.az.com/~andrade/knit/mloop.html) has pictures of inside-out circular knitting on one circular needle, but the same thing should apply to DPNs. (Scroll down near the bottom. I'm guessing that your knitting looks like the second photo, except that your working needles are facing toward you. The solution is still the same.)

LoAnnie
10-13-2006, 11:30 AM
For my first project in-the-round, I knit the whole thing inside out. It shouldn't make a difference. You can always turn it back right side out when you finish. Or if you want, knit a few rows, then turn it back. Whatever you want to do.
LoAnnie

janelanespaintbrush
10-13-2006, 11:50 AM