PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations on best DPNs

tomai
11-04-2006, 02:33 PM
Hi!

I am a bit new at knitting still and I finally made 1 pair of socks and it was so fun! :D but unfortunately i think i knit on the tight side and I really worked my DPNs to death on just 1 pair of socks :( I used those colored metalic Boye brand ones and now the ends of each point have been so worn down that when I knit it doesnt feel smooth, it feels like I'm knitting with 2 rusted pieces of metals because of the rough texture on the ends. :oops: Are they savable?

Does anyone have any DPN needles they use that they love and can recommend? :)

Thank you!

Hildegard_von_Knittin
11-04-2006, 03:36 PM
I love my brittneys!!!!

Nikki
11-04-2006, 03:47 PM
Sorry Hildy, but BB are at the bottom of my list. :shrug: I love KPs DPNs and Inox of course. I've been knitting the husband guy a pair of socks with worsted weight Mt. Colors and I'm using the Lantern Moon DPNs I recieved as a gift. Not too shabby.

misstialouise
11-04-2006, 04:01 PM
I like my bamboo DPN's.. I have some casein DPN's that I've yet to try...

tomai
11-04-2006, 04:11 PM
Wow thanks for all the recommendations! :) It seems like its better to use bamboo and wooden ones rather than metal ones! I just bought the Knitpicks circular needle and case set but I have yet to learn how to make socks on those yet (they seem more difficult because im used to the calculations on 3 needles and not 2) so for now ill stick to DPNs lol

KellyK
11-04-2006, 06:02 PM
My faves are Crystal Palace bamboos. They are REALLY smooth.

Folks tend to knit tighter on metal DPNs because they are slippier. Bamboo holds on to your yarn a bit better and there's no need to knit so tightly.

Good luck!

mwedzi
11-05-2006, 12:39 AM