PDA

View Full Version : Disheartened, any advice?

Kniki
11-10-2006, 08:18 AM
I am a newbie knitter, so far, i have knitted a baby blanket and 2 baby hats. The 2nd of the baby hats i completed just looks so bad, i had so many problems trying to get the size right (never did really get it right). I don't want to give up on knitting, but i feel like i'm :wall: There are so many things that can make a pattern go wrong, i only own 2 pairs of straight needles for a start, then i can never find a nice pattern (that i'm able to do) because i can only read the simple knitting language. Also i tend to buy some wool that i like, then try to find a pattern, which i'm guessing now is totally the wrong way around?
:(

Ingrid
11-10-2006, 08:52 AM
First, we ALL buy yarn that we like (well, 99.9% of us) and then have to decide what to do with it. That's a normal thing.

Having only 2 pairs of needles limits you, too. In order for the size of the finished object to be the size the pattern says it will be, you need to match your gauge--number of stitches per inch--that the pattern has, and to do this you need the right combination of needles and yarn thickness.

One thing you can always knit no matter what your yarn and needles are scarves. You can practice techniques, use your yarn and needles since gauge isn't critical. They can be a 'sit and knit' project or a learning experience.

Dishcloths are good to mess around with, too, since there are so many that use different techniques.

So hang in there--knitting really IS fun and satisfying (as is yarn collecting :teehee: ).

www.knittingpatterncentral.com has a huge collection of free patterns from all over the net. Take a look at them. I'm sure you'll see something that will strike your fancy.

If you find a pattern that you'd like to make but don't understand the pattern, come here and ask--there's always someone around to help.

HamburgKnitter
11-10-2006, 08:52 AM