PDA

View Full Version : Bamboo Yarn

jessica555
11-22-2006, 01:31 AM
Has any one worked with bamboo? Is it like a light weight cotten, better for summer items?:shrug:
When you buy yarn how do you know how many projects are in a skeen?
Why are some sold by weight, and others by the yard :?? Do any of you ever buy more yarn for a prodject than what the pattern calls for...just incase? :oops: I know trust the pattern...I do...it's me I am having issues with :zombie: Once again thanks for your help

HamburgKnitter
11-22-2006, 06:06 AM
"Has any one worked with bamboo? Is it like a light weight cotten, better for summer items?:shrug:"

I am currently knitting my first sock using Regia Bamboo sock yarn. It's 45% bamboo. I'm a newbie and certainly no expert, so I will just tell you what it says on the label which is that bamboo makes the material light & "breathable" (sorry, I'm translating this from german). I assume they mean that it's good for potentially sweaty feet (ewwwww).

"When you buy yarn how do you know how many projects are in a skeen?"

I have found that most online shops list how much yarn you need for sweater sizes, etc. More importantly, most patterns will tell you how much you need. And I think it's a matter of experience too. I bet some of the experienced knitters will tell you that they can calculate how much they'll need through experience.

"Why are some sold by weight, and others by the yard :?? "

I have no idea!

"Do any of you ever buy more yarn for a prodject than what the pattern calls for...just incase? :oops: I know trust the pattern...I do...it's me I am having issues with :zombie:"