PDA

View Full Version : help me alter this hat pattern please.

sewinhotmama23
12-12-2006, 02:04 PM
I am a beginner, and have taught myself how to knit from the "easiest learn how to knit book ever" and am loving it. It has a great hat pattern that uses the stockinette stitch. and you basically knit a rectangle then decrease once you have about 8 inches knitted and the cinch it closed. Its really cute, and my little sister as well as I are loving our new hats.

Heres where I want to alter it for xmas presents for all the new babies in my family....

1. can I knit in the round instead of having to sew the rectangle afterwards?

2. Can I just decrease the amount of cast on stitches to make the circumfrance smaller? The adult size calls for 82, I tried it on my 4 month old, and while I like the way it looks on him, other familiy members might want it a little smaller...Could I decrease it to say 62 since its a fairly stretchy stitch? the other babies are 8 weeks, 10 weeks, 5 months, and 13 months.

3. Its a rolled brim hat, super cute for girls IMO, but I was thinking for the boys I might do the cable stitch of k2p2 that I recently have been making christmas scarves with. If I do so.. do I need to decrease the cast on even further since its stretchy also?

4. Last question! Since the adult size calls for k1 row p1 row for 8 inches, can I just k1row p1 row for say 5 inches for the smaller babies, and 6 inches for the older 2???

Thanks so much! I think Ive got it worked out in my head, just wanted some advice from experienced ones before I got started and have to unknit or unravel a whole bunch of work!

suzeeq
12-12-2006, 02:27 PM
1. can I knit in the round instead of having to sew the rectangle afterwards?