PDA

View Full Version : Afghan for Dad

LittleGirlBusyBee
12-20-2006, 03:43 PM
Skeins looked nothing like online pic :?? , but once I made a ball of the horror skein, I believed in the afghan again. I was mortified when I opened the yarn, can you say HIDEOUS?! Once I'd made a ball, it was clear the skeins are a long shot from what it looks knitted up. THANK GOD :notworthy:

Oversized Afghan 55x60 inches before blocking; didn't measure after steam ironing. Body knit in double-seed stitch, border knit regular seed stitch. The yarn is 13/14 skeins of Aquarella Malabrigo.

I am a beginner knitter and wanted to get experience before digging into a pattern. My first FO was a hideous washcloth only Frankenstein would fancy, then a Debbie Bliss Superchunky Cashmerino scarf, then this! I'm rather pleased :heart: ... but the blocking didn't go so well. For the life of me I couldn't get the darn thing into a perfect rectangle. Next time, I won't bother. It looked better pre-blocking :wall: I learned many other dos and don't with this afghan too... don't ask!! :roflhard: :wall: :grrr:

Lastly, I was shocked to find that I wasn't at all intrigued at the FO. To my amazement, the process of thinking up and creating something proved much more satisfying than having it finished.. so I'm on to my next quandary of a project--- a Colinette shawl :muah:

Stiney
12-20-2006, 03:47 PM
OMG :thud:

That is absolutely beautiful. I love that colorway. :heart:

You are amazing!

Andrea
12-20-2006, 03:53 PM
That is A LOT of work and A LOT of Malabrigo!!! :passedout:

Looks great!! I'm sure your dad will love it! :cheering:

LittleGirlBusyBee
12-20-2006, 05:45 PM