PDA

View Full Version : knitting method poll

hydeemarie
01-06-2007, 05:42 PM
Here is a question...

Vendie
01-06-2007, 05:45 PM
Continental-er here.

You're from New Haven? I used to live in Ft. Wayne. Small world!

Jan in CA
01-06-2007, 05:47 PM
I learned to crochet many years ago and held the yarn in my left hand so when I started knitting I did that, too (continental). HOWEVER, I was just not comfortable with it especially when purling so I tried english and after a little learning period I've become very comfortable with it.

niffer
01-06-2007, 06:18 PM
English, although I did try continental last night and got meself into a right curfuffle.

I'd love to do continental - it looks so smooth and fun to do. I'll try again one day!

Braden
01-06-2007, 06:26 PM
I learned the English style, but since I crocheted forever before I knitted, it just made more sense to learn how to knit Continental, and I have been doing it that way for about 3 years (been knitting for 4). Like Amy says, it is the fastest when going from knit to purl stitches.

five_six
01-06-2007, 06:40 PM
I knit Welsh...

kschmitz
01-06-2007, 06:55 PM
I taught myself from a book and ended up doing a left-handed English type thing even though I'm right-handed. So I learned Continental a few months ago and never looked back! Tons faster than what I was doing previously, and the tension is much better.

mks22300
01-06-2007, 07:03 PM
I knit continental. :D

DoulaLyndsey
01-06-2007, 07:37 PM
I knit continental. I've tried knitting English, but continental is just so much faster and easier for me.

hunterjenn
01-06-2007, 07:43 PM
I'm a combination--I knit continental, but I throw the yarn when I purl. Isn't it cool that we can all do it however we want and still get the same results? I love that! :)

Jan in CA
01-06-2007, 08:19 PM
I knit Welsh...

:??

of troy
01-06-2007, 08:23 PM
combination knitting (for more than 45 years.) before ann modisett and all the other wrote about it.