PDA

View Full Version : DPNs and Circulars

Claire06
01-10-2007, 03:58 PM
Hi,

I've been knitting for about 9 months now on straight needles, but find the patterns I want to knit increasingly use DPNs or circular needles. I don't have the money to buy a full set of either, so I was wondering if someone could give me an idea of the best sizes to buy, given that I do mainly baby knitting.

Thanks!

brendajos
01-10-2007, 04:01 PM
it is hard to say but have you looked at the circular sets? the cost is actually pretty minimal considering how many needles you are actually getting. it seems like a lot in one shot but when i consider how much i spent on individual needles before switcing to an interchangable set, i could have bought 5 sets i would think.

Jan in CA
01-10-2007, 04:10 PM
If you need to you can find the patterns you are most interested in knitting and see what sizes are recommened. Start with those and add to them later or buy the set next time around.

suzeeq
01-10-2007, 04:12 PM
And if you go with the ones sold at Joann's or Michaels, you can use the 40% off coupons on them. I think Joann's is having a 50% off sale all this week. Ebay is anoter resource for needle sets, and the swap forums here and on other boards.

sue

janelanespaintbrush
01-10-2007, 04:20 PM
it is hard to say but have you looked at the circular sets? the cost is actually pretty minimal considering how many needles you are actually getting. it seems like a lot in one shot but when i consider how much i spent on individual needles before switcing to an interchangable set, i could have bought 5 sets i would think.