PDA

View Full Version : Yarn 101

Cattrah
01-12-2007, 04:05 PM
So I'm still relatively new at this whole knitting thing, especially yarn, I've only very recently discovered some specialty yarn shops in my area and I was wondering if there is some kind of scale or way to tell the desirability or quality of a yarn. I know some obvious things like Red Heart super saver buy by the pound scratchy acrylic stuff is el cheapo and generally only used for beginners practice, and then there seems to be a lot of drooling over this Malibrigo type stuff. Is the fact that it comes in a hank instead of a ball any indicator of a yarn's quality or desireability? So far I've only gone to large chain stores that sell yarn and just touch everything until I find something I like but it's usually acrylic or polester or other synthetic fibers but from reading around here it seems wools and angora and other natural fibers are much more coveted. I hadn't met a natural fiber I really liked yet, maybe I'm just looking in the wrong places or maybe I just don't like the extra maintenance a natural fiber needs.

So anyone have any tips to help a beginner guage yarn quality and desireability?

brendajos
01-12-2007, 04:11 PM
you know it really is all about personal taste. there are LOTS of people who are perfectly content with synthetic fibers and actually prefer them. there are just as many who would never touch the stuff. even the malabrigo isn't the BEST that i have ever felt, and i LOVE malabrigo. go to those yarn shops and do what you have been doing...feel stuff up and see what you think. if you don't like them, there is no shame in it at all. you need to be prepared for sticker shock when you go to those stores though as the prices are generally much more than what you will find at Hobby Lobby or Michaels or other stores like those. I do find that Lion has gotten pretty comparable in pricing to the LYS though in some of their lines.

Just go and look and see what you find.

nadja la claire