PDA

View Full Version : OT: Does anyone here SEW?

Momma_Jo
01-13-2007, 08:09 PM
I'm trying to learn....well, with the machine that is. I'm pretty good at sewing things by hand, reading patterns, and creating patterns from actual garments....but my GOD, the sewing machine is the worst thing ever invented by humans!

JoeE
01-13-2007, 08:17 PM
OMIGOD! How can you say that?!? Sewing machines are the greatest invention since the wheel. They are a remarkable feat of engineering. I own a lot of them, and each of them has its own charm.

What kinds of questions/problems do you have? I will confess that I'm not that experienced with sewing clothes, but I've pieced several quilts, made a zillion Halloween costumes, and made a fair share of window treatments over the years.

vaknitter
01-13-2007, 08:24 PM
I agree with PP, I adore my sewing machine and was extatic to receive a 2 needle serger to finish edges. I detest hand sewing and in fact to 2 Christmas gifts to my mother to complete the hand sewing parts !!

What about the machine is giving you trouble?

newamy
01-13-2007, 08:27 PM
Sewing machines are better than hand sewing but each machine has its own quirks.

Is it a new machine? If so and you bought it at a sewing machine shop they offer classes usually to help people learn about their machine.

If it's old but new to you hopefully you have the instructions, go through them step by step. Machines can have tension problems or need cleaning. I have a very old Viking, I had it cleaned several years ago and ever since it has worked like a dream.

Sara
01-13-2007, 08:28 PM
:heart: :heart: :heart: :heart: :heart: :heart: my sewing machines! Tell us of your problem, we can probably help.

bjc1050
01-14-2007, 04:06 PM