PDA

View Full Version : Knitting for warm climates

ambernowknits
01-17-2007, 06:51 PM
Ok...I love knitting. I'm still a newbie, and my "stash" will probably never exceed more than what's necessary for a project, but I love knitting.

My mother, who knits at an intermediate level but prefers crochet, lives in the Caribbean. You know, that evil place where it's always sunny and warm? Yeah. I get mad at her too sometimes. Anyway, what is there that I can knit her that she can't simply do herself? Sweaters wouldn't work, or afghans, since it's usually too warm to wear long sleeves and even the "winter" months are too warm for blankets. What can I knit for my mom that she could actually use? Same thing goes for my little brother, who is almost 11 and lives there too.

CarmenIbanez
01-17-2007, 06:55 PM
You have a couple of options. Felted items, like slippers and bags are great. Even in warm climates (I live in the desert) there are an occaisional rainy or cool night where slippers are nice.

Or, you could go with (for your mom) a sweater that is a lightweight (cotton blend) lacy type sweater. Something pretty that can be worn in warm times too!

Check out Knitty (www.knitty.com) for some ideas. There is also this (www.knittingpatterncentral.com) site for free patterns.

Mama Bear
01-17-2007, 07:29 PM
I made my granddaughter a lightweight tanktop using a light weight organic cotton. It's really light and airy.

Cascade makes a very soft cotton/tencel that is a little thicker (DK weight I think) but would still be nice and airy if done on larger needles with a lacy pattern.

If you find a great deal on clearance (littleknits.com has some right now) how about a top from silk?

Swimsuit coverup in a nice lacy cotton or rayon?

Mama Bear

syndactylus
01-17-2007, 07:39 PM
you could still make a beach or picnic blanket, just for sitting and lying on?

(that is what I tell myself when I'm knitting for the babies in OK...)

stagebear
01-17-2007, 08:29 PM