PDA

View Full Version : Truely A Beginner Here ,But I Want To Learn To Knit

Nanaof6
01-21-2007, 01:33 PM
Hello, I have never knitted in my life, I did do some crocheting once, made the weirdest looking blanket only because I didn't know how to stop and turn the right way and it just grew into a triangle shape ,it was like a king size blanket at one end and a baby blanket at the other end. So I quit. Now at 55 I am hoping to teach myself a new craft. I sew and have made clothes that I still wear. I have brought tons of craft items with the best intent to try and learn something new, but to be truely honest....I have two things that I have brought and never even opened, one is a painting kit with easel and oil paints.....I use to paint and draw when I was in high school, thought that one day I might be an art teacher, but I got married and had babies that needed me. The other craft item is something that I talked my DH into buying off of EbAY for me , it's a Donna DoBerry(sp) one stroke painting kit. There were 7 different kits all in one bid......over $200.........that is down in the basement somewhere unopened too!

The only thing that I have gotten into as of late and liked and stuck to is Stained Glass. I went to classes and fell in love with it.DH was the first one to go to classes and when I watched him I knew I had to learn also. We've set up a small stained glass studio but we haven't made anything to sell yet. It all just gets made as gifts so far.

Like I said I have never knitted before , but I truely want to learn and I'd like to be able to knit something that I would be proud to wear. I went to AmazonBooks.com and got 'Knitting and Crocheting for Dummies' I also have some books coming from Ebay on the topic, all for beginners.

Now that I have found this site I am hoping that I can learn to knit with the help of those that know how. :notworthy:

Nana,

Jan in CA
01-21-2007, 01:43 PM
Hello, Nana! Welcome to the forum!