PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Stratford Ontario area!

Birdy
01-30-2007, 10:19 PM
Hello!

I'm from the Stratford, Ontario area in Canada.

I've been knitting for just over 5 years now. I've made a few sweaters, ponchos, numerous scarves, slippers and pairs of socks... and have a list of requested items that number in the teens...

Ultimately I am a crafter, but in the past 3 years have found myself really enjoying knitting to the point of seriously considering getting rid of all the other materials and supplies around our home!

I'm 30 y/o, married nearly 9 years, mother of 2, and a Home School Mom. Activities I enjoy when I get the rare moment are reading, knitting, sewing (yes with one of those machine things), scrap-booking, painting (both the finer things and rooms :D ).

Naturally, things I don't enjoy are ... House-work... etc... :rofl:

I started knitting after my daughter's birth, out of a kind of desperation. I really wanted this sweater but it cost $100, and that was as attainable as the moon! Also, my husband has worked nights as long as I have known him and being stranded on a farm with only chickens or a toddler and infant left me craving something peaceful!

I had inherited my Grand-mother's knitting needles and some cheap yarn so I thought I would learn how. I did... 1 scarf knitted 30 times over...

The next winter it was slippers. I made about 30 pairs!

The following winter I made 3 sweaters and the poncho... and my list of requested items grew.

Anyhow... I came to this site because it was recommended by others. I tried my hand at the double knitted pot-holder thing. Really neat...

Also I decided to learn Continental over the Throw method, so the pot-holder was MC in Continental and Alternate in Throw. Turned out well enough to make a pair as part of a wedding gift.

What do I want from here? I :shrug: I think it will be nice to hang around with other's who get knitting and don't make fun of me!

Ingrid
01-30-2007, 10:49 PM
Welcome!