PDA

View Full Version : Just gave My Mom A Knitting Lesson

Knitting_Guy
02-07-2007, 03:47 PM
Yeah, I'm a rookie knitter, but my Mom who has done crochet for many years wanted to learn to knit. I just got back from giving her a quick lesson in the knit and purl stitches.

Naturally she understood it immediately and I'm sure she'll pass me up in no time. But it was kinda fun to teach her something like knitting.

feminine_earth
02-07-2007, 03:53 PM
Good for you!! :) I taught my mom to knit, too! However, she refuses to learn to purl. :pout:

newwooley
02-07-2007, 03:54 PM
That is pretty cool! I have the reverse situation, sort of. I've crocheted since I was a child although my son taught himself to knit. He inspired me to try it and through this forum and Amy's video's along with my son's direction, I'm knitting. Now, my conversations with my son always flow to talk about knitting projects, etc... Its always nice to have a hobby in common.
:D
Helen

PCwombat
02-07-2007, 04:57 PM
That's awesome. Over break, I tried to teach my mom to knit. It was...amusing. :teehee: I'm going to try again over summer break. Last time, we spent most of the "lesson" on the long tail cast on, so next time, I'll just show her the backwards loop cast-on, so we can get to actually knitting faster.

Chrissie
02-07-2007, 04:59 PM
My mom knits, but all she does is garter stitch scarves in Lion Brand Homespun. Seriously. I'm going to teach her some new stuff when we get together next.....

Jan in CA
02-07-2007, 05:13 PM
That's wonderful! It's nice to have something in common like that isn't it!?

bobi1218
02-07-2007, 05:38 PM
My mom wants to learn, but she's left-handed and claims that she can't knit the same way I do because of that. She can crochet, though, but she can't teach me because of the whole left-handed/right-handed thing. Seriously, she couldn't even teach me to tie my shoes when I was little, my friend's mom did :)

redwitch
02-07-2007, 07:50 PM