PDA

View Full Version : Combination knitting

Tonid1980
02-09-2007, 02:59 PM
Hi all.. newbie here.

Over the last two years, I have become craft obsessed. I have crochetted for a long time (nothing fancy, just single and double crochette and the big square block things), but that was the extent of it for a very long time. Then I started reading all of these awesome craft blogs, and I was hooked. First came the need to knit, then cross stitch,and then to quilt. Quilting and cross stitch took over for a while since I got frustrated with knitting, and I got back to knitting a few weeks ago.

I started a simple ribbed scarf, and I noticed that I was having a realllly hard time shoving my needle into the loops. So I checked out this site and watched some videos. I came to realize that I was doing the Combination purl and the regular knit. This made my stitching realllly tight. So, now that I know what I was doing, I was able to switch to the combination knit, and my knitting is FLYING now...

However, watching the videos here, and reading up a bit on combination knitting, has made me a little nervous. I know that once I do a few scarves, Im gonna be itching to try something a bit more complicated. But I read that because the stitches are oriented differently on the needle with this kind of stitching, that patterns may be a little off for those of us who stitch this way.

So, my question is, is there an easy way to convert patterns/charts for combination knitters? Or do we just have to wing it? Should I stick to this for the simple things that wont be affected (like scarves), and learn the regular stitching way for everything else? I dont want to get into the habbit of knitting this way if its going to make things more difficult for me further down the road...

Thanks for reading!!

Toni

janelanespaintbrush
02-09-2007, 03:11 PM