PDA

View Full Version : Irrational Fear of Felting--Update...I did it!!!!

IrishKnitter
02-28-2007, 12:50 AM
Hi all,

I have a booga bag that I've knit, and it is waiting to be felted. Actually, it's been waiting since September!! As you can tell by the subject line, I have this unnatural fear of felting. I've never done it before, and I'm afraid of "messing it up." :oops:

I've read posts and articles online about felting, but I'm just wondering if anyone has any other excellent tips they'd like to share? Hopefully this will inspire me to felt the bag!

Ironically, today's Knitty Gritty was about felting...coincidence?? :shrug: :teehee:

hunterjenn
02-28-2007, 12:56 AM
Mmmm...nothing probably that hasn't already been posted here. Hot water, low water level, throw in a few towels/jeans, put it in a pillowcase and check it every few minutes. Actually, it's SUPER fun!! Good luck! :happydance:

Jan in CA
02-28-2007, 01:51 AM
You really can't hurt it. Just do as the previous reply said with hot water/low level, jeans and pillow case or lingerie bag plus a tiny bit of detergent and then check it every 5-10 min. When it looks they way you want it to let it finish the cycle and then block it over a cereal box or something that will give it a good shape and let dry! ;) :heart:

SandraEllen
02-28-2007, 08:20 AM
You should do it! Have fun!

Oh yeah. It'll smell like wet sheepies when you're done. :ick:

Silver
02-28-2007, 08:47 AM
I think it's normal to be a little hesitant but let me tell you that once you see the magic that is felting, there will be no stopping you! :)

stitchwitch
02-28-2007, 11:00 AM
The first time you felt it can be a little unsettling since you just spent hours on something that you are basically giving up to chance (or so it seems). Once you felt something you will love it, I'm addicted to felting and have made a bunch of felted items. Just make sure to check it often to get the results you want, otherwise have fun and enjoy your new purse! :cheering: