PDA

View Full Version : ARGH! So frustrated! Toe-up Jaywalkers

Ariane100
03-01-2007, 10:17 PM
I'm making a pair of toe-up Jaywalkers following these instructions.

http://azazello.org/nataliaknits/?p=36

Now I'm pretty new to sock knitting and I think this is the first pair I made with a gusset, so I have *no* idea where to start the gusset. She says that she wears a 7.5 and starts the gusset at 4.5-5 inches. I wear an 8 (my feet are 9 inches long) so I thought starting the gusset at 5.25 would be good. Now I have 1 inch to go on the heel turn and these socks are already 10 inches long! If I kept on knitting, they would be a full 2 inches too long! Now I have to rip more than half of what I've done so far.... ARGH!!!

Of course, NOW that I screwed up, I realized that there was a way to calculate how many rows it would take to complete the gusset and heel turn and so to figure out when to start the gusset increases... Oh well, live and learn, I guess!

Thank you for listening, I'm sure some of you will have BTDT!

Ariane

MoniDew
03-01-2007, 10:32 PM
You're the one courageous enough to even ATTEMPT toe-up socks, so bravo for you to begin with. :cheering: :cheering: :cheering:

Chalk the first one up to "practice," kidd-o. It'll be alright!
________
Grape ape pictures (http://trichomes.org/marijuana-strains/grape-ape)

Emeraldcutie
03-02-2007, 10:49 AM
With toe up socks, if they are on a circular, I try them on and when the sock touches my ankle or where the top of the foot and leg meet, I start my gusset shaping.

Or you could measure from the tip of your toes to that spot (where the leg and foot connect but remember to minus approx 20% for stretch and fit of the sock.

HTH.

Don't give up, once you get the hang of it, you won't want to knit your socks any other way.

catownedanna
03-02-2007, 11:03 AM
This post's Swedish word/phrase: "Jaywlakers är fina" = "Jaywalkers look nice"
_____

Sorry you've had to frog part sof your Jaywalkers. :pout: