PDA

View Full Version : OT - from crochet to knitting

DianaM
03-18-2007, 12:36 PM
I was sitting on the balcony of my apartment, drinking my morning coffee and crocheting, thinking about how easy crochet comes to me and how much trouble I have following knit patterns when it hit me..... :doh:

I've been crocheting for almost 20 years and I have never followed a crochet pattern.

My crocheted work (http://www.cafenox.net/graphos/main.php?g2_itemId=494) is very simple, but there's not print pattern for it. It's all the result of me going: "hmmmmmmm :??" during a class, doodling designs on paper and later translating them to crochet.

My bf's blanket (http://www.cafenox.net/graphos/main.php?g2_itemId=503), is the result of me pondering and taking Microbiology notes at the same time....waaaaaay out of proportion.

I like to do my own thing, so when I have to follow a knit pattern, it's strange to me. There's rules that have to be observed, and I've never really done that.

I finished a blanket for my Mom (http://www.cafenox.net/graphos/main.php?g2_itemId=1150), and then sat down and thought about what kind of blanket I could make for Dad quickly enough that I can give it to them when they come to visit in July. That was Friday. The blankie's halfways done.

But I still can't finish an Irish Hiking Scarf.

Has anyone else had this problem? Or am I just freaky? :pout:

Edit: Oh yeah......for some reason freeform knitting doesn't really appeal to me.
I want to knit things with a structure, I just have trouble following an actual pattern.
I guess I'm gonna have to start creating my own :??

Jan in CA
03-18-2007, 12:57 PM
Except for a few things I often didn't follow a pattern either. I prefer the look of knitted fabric over crochet so I'll stick to knitting now. Following a pattern just takes time to learn and you learn little tricks to make it easier. I use a pencil and paper to keep track of where I am and add little notes to it when necessary.