PDA

View Full Version : SSK vs. SKP

JoeE
03-23-2007, 03:49 PM
Which is your preferred left-leaning decrease? I hear good things about SSK, but I find it harder to manage than SKP (or S1 K1 PSSO, if you prefer it that way). I don't notice a huge difference in appearance, but I'm still a newbie enough that I have to really study to tell if I just did a decrease row on a sock, or if it was straight knitting.

I have a mental image of a really good knitter looking at my decreases and thinking, "Poor boy, if only he'd learn to knit properly. He's just wasting his time churning out the trash knitting he does. It makes me ashamed to hear him call himself a knitter." OK, so maybe my imagination is a tad more vivid than other folks.

I know the conventional wisdom is that there is no wrong way to knit, but most of what I know I learned from Amy's videos, so I tend to think her preferred way is the "right" way to do it, and anything else is dumbed down for clumsy amateurs like me.

Joe

brendajos
03-23-2007, 04:49 PM
seems like ssk is more invisible, though i don't think anybody would really notice but the person knitting it. with the pass you have that stitch that is sortof askew looking since you passed that stitch over. :shrug:

i really don't think i have a preference toooooo much. but gun to the head i would take ssk.

BillSpace
03-23-2007, 05:02 PM
Also, try Amy's "improved" SSK: slip the first stitch as if to knit, slip the second stitch as if to purl, then stick your right needle in the front of the two stitches and knit together. It really does make a slightly smoother look.

I'd say that if SSK gives you problems, it's probably because you haven't practiced enough yet.

But once you have full control over your knitting, and you know that the stitches look good or bad because of the stitches themselves and not because of your competence, do the one you like best!

nuknitter
03-23-2007, 06:08 PM
Hey Joe!