PDA

View Full Version : I love knitting socks but am so slow!

chilpepmom
03-27-2007, 07:59 PM
I absolutely love knitting socks, but have found I'm very slow at it. I'm doing 2 at a time on circulars, the patterns aren't difficult but it seems to take so long. It's probably the small needles and thin yarn. There's so many I want to make. I'm just curious how long does it take you to knit a pair of socks? Maybe I'll find I'm not as slow as I think.
Or, does anyone have any suggestions?

wildflower38
03-27-2007, 08:06 PM
I'm new to knitting and new to knitting socks. It takes 2 weeks to knit a pair of toe down socks on 2 circulars.

auburnchick
03-27-2007, 08:11 PM
I think the first couple of pairs go a little slow because you are learning the steps and double-checking everything. Each pair will get easier (until you start experimenting with different kinds of heels and patterns, that is).

Vendie
03-27-2007, 09:00 PM
Because I can't seem to devote enough time to knitting and I have some serious knitting ADD, it takes me on average a month or two to finish a pair, regardless of the pattern. The more interested I am, the quicker I go, but it still takes me forever.

psammeadred
03-27-2007, 09:09 PM
If I were to knit a sock without stopping for any breaks, it would probably take me about a day, maybe two if it were a complicated pattern. But I can't focus on one thing for that long! It does get faster, though, as you get more experience with turning heels and grafting toes.

Braden
03-27-2007, 09:20 PM
I use DPN's, and it takes me abut 4-5 days to finish a pair in sock yarn and 0-3 needles.

lauraknits
03-27-2007, 10:24 PM
Wow, Conti, you are fast!

I am new to sock knitting, and it's taking me about 3-4 weeks to finish a pair on size 1's.

I sure hope it gets faster!!

orcoastknitter
03-27-2007, 10:58 PM
If I stuck to just knitting a pair of socks, it would probably take me about two weeks, if I am lucky.

Like Vendie I have knitting ADD.

Panhandle Jane