PDA

View Full Version : Preference in Needles?

Paws4Knitting
03-30-2007, 01:28 AM
I am new to knitting and would like to know what other knitters prefer to use in brands and types of needles- aka- bamboo, etc.? Thanks! xxx

aineepooh1
03-30-2007, 02:09 AM
FIRST : WELCOME TO KH~! :muah:

My peronal preference is for resin (plastic like) needles. i tried metal at first and IMHO they were too slippery and did not "give" with the yarn when I was knitting. I tried bamboo and they are good for beginners b/c the yarn doesn't move much on them.. but as you pick up speed they seemed a little tedious to work with. At the home page there is a link about INTERCHANGEABLE SETS OF NEEDLES. these explain alot about why these are such a good idea.
But as a beginner I would stick with resin and not metal.. ALTHOUGH EACH KNITTER WILL HAVE A PREFERENCE FOR ONE OVER THE OTHER.... part of the fun is finding out what YOU like~! :happydance: :cheering:

redwitch
03-30-2007, 02:11 AM
Everybody has a different preference. How long have you been knitting? If you've done a bit, what kind of size needle and what needles have you been using?
I would say buy whatever's cheapest until you know what kind you want. That will probably be plastic. If you find them too slippery, you may be a loose knitter, and are likely to prefer wooden or bamboo meedles.
If you find them too sticky/not slippery enough, you probably knit tightly, and are likely to find metal needles better.

But rather than fix your gauge quirks with changing needles, I recommend you focus on knitting more averagely - if you are a tight knitter, try to loosen up, etc. You will really be glad in the long run.
Then next time needles are on sale, buy your favourite size in both metal and bamboo/wood, knit a bit with each and see which you prefer.

Sarah

P.S. I prefer metal/anything with a very pointy tip.

dakatzmeow
03-30-2007, 08:15 AM
my knitpicks options interchangables. i am sooooooooooo in love! :heart:

VickyS456