PDA

View Full Version : Very first project?

Joyfulmom
04-01-2007, 05:30 PM
Hi,
I'm a knitting newbie and was sent here by a friend. This is a great website and the videos are perfect!

My question is, what is the best beginner project? So far, all I've done is practice different stitches. Now I'd like to try to make something, but I'm not sure where to begin. Thanks for any help!

GinnyG
04-01-2007, 05:31 PM
A scarf is a great place to start, simple useful and FAST!!

Joyfulmom
04-01-2007, 05:38 PM
A scarf is a great place to start, simple useful and FAST!!

Thank you! Any particular pattern or just any?

carmabelle1191
04-01-2007, 05:41 PM
I began with a scarf, but got bored with it eventually. Maybe you should try a hat or a bag, something that won't be too hard but will give you something that you have to put some effort in.

nadja la claire
04-01-2007, 05:43 PM
Hi, Welcome to the forum :waving:

Try the pattern tab on this site and also go to www.knittingpatterncentral.com You may also like to do dish clothes to practice stitches.

:muah: :hug:

Nadja xxx

Jan in CA
04-01-2007, 05:43 PM
A garter stitch scarf is usually a good place to start. Once you have the hang of doing the knit stitch then throw in some purl stitches. This may be something you never wear, but learning the stitches is important. I also suggest while you're at it to learn what the stitches look like. It will help tremendously when you are onto ribbing and more complicated patterns.

Knitting_Guy
04-01-2007, 09:42 PM
The first project I started was a 2x2 ribbed scarf but got bored before finishing it. The second project started, and the first one I actually finished was a pair of socks.

jeanius80
04-01-2007, 09:53 PM