PDA

View Full Version : Online knitting journal

mrkipling
04-07-2007, 10:46 AM
Hello everyone. I'm new here, and new to knitting in general, but thanks to Amy's videos I'm getting there a lot faster than I thought possible :)

Basically I was just wondering whether or not anybody would find an online knitting journal useful. I'm a web developer, and I like knitting, so I thought it might be a good idea to combine the two. I was thinking of creating a Facebook-style social knitting network (please excuse the buzzwords) - a place for people to post pictures and updates on their projects, patterns, tutorials, etc, and share them all with friends. It would also include specific knitting journal features, although I haven't decided exactly what these would be just yet. So my questions are as follows:

1. Would anybody use a site like this?
2. If so, what would you like to see on it?

Please be honest - if you think that nobody would actually use a site such as this then please tell me so I don't waste my time actually making it. But if you think that it might be useful, then great!

Stiney
04-07-2007, 11:06 AM
I'm a Facebook/MySpace/livejournal ho.

But then I think, can't you just use all their technology and do the social networking on already existing networks? (Saving you the work. Unless you want to do it, of course.) Except, I think I might be hidden on Facebook, I can't remember.

mrkipling
04-07-2007, 12:12 PM
Thanks for the feedback cawthraven! You make a good point - you could quite easily post pictures of knitting projects into seperate galleries on Facebook, and share them with your friends. And there's also the fact that there are a LOT of social network sites, so do we really need another one?

But on the other hand, if a social network site was built around knitting as it's main focus, it could incorporate a lot of unique features that knitters might find useful, and that can't be found on sites such as Facebook and MySpace.