PDA

View Full Version : Frustrated!!!!!

Paws4Knitting
04-10-2007, 05:43 PM
I know I am new and this will probably take some time, but I am so flustered with getting the right tension as I knit.

I am trying practice runs with the different stitches and I feel like I'll never get this. I know you have all had some rather large projects you have worked on, but for me, I feel so jealous of the people who get this easily. :notworthy:

Any suggestions or tales from when you first started that will help me get over my frustration....

Cheers! :frog:

wildflower38
04-10-2007, 06:03 PM
I've been knitting since October 2006. I practiced my stitches by knitting dishclothes. There's a great yahoo group that has 2 monthly dishcloth knit alongs. Andi hosts the group and everyone is nice and helpful. Here's a link to the blog and you'll find a link to the yahoo group there.
http://monthlydishclothkal.blogspot.com/

Mulderknitter
04-10-2007, 06:09 PM
I've been knitting for about 2 yrs now, and still have different tension problems. I've noticed a big difference in tension between the yarns that I'm using. Some yarn allows you to pull tighter than other more fragile yarn, so that causes a problem for me.

Jan in CA
04-10-2007, 06:09 PM
It does just take practice. Others may have differing opinions, but I usually suggest just make rows and rows of garter stitch (knit only both sides), then practice stockinette (knit a row, purl a row). Those are the foundation stitches for all knitting so getting them down will help in the long run. Just my opinion though.

nadja la claire
04-10-2007, 06:15 PM
You think people get knitting easily? HAH! We all go through what you're going through. It takes time. Thanks to Amy I learned how to BO 3 weeks after I 1st CO and it took me 6 months to learn how to purl, just because it was so awkward for me. I still get frustrated sometimes, like when I'm trying to do a heel.

Be patient, you'll get it.

:muah: :hug:

Nadja xxx

Braden