PDA

View Full Version : Calling all Knitting Nurses!!

kindermen
04-10-2007, 10:28 PM
After my post yesterday about knitting in seminars I received several responses from fellow nurses. I thought it would be fun to hear from other nurses and what area you work in. I have been a nurse for 23yrs and I work in the neonatal intensive care and knitting helps keep me sane!!!!!
Hope to hear from you'all!!!!! Thanks!!!

cindyln
04-10-2007, 10:55 PM
I too have been a nurse for 23 years. I am a RN on a busy LDRP. Today I had a out of control labor patient bite me on the right hand requiring 5 stitches on my right index finger. The first thought through my head....THATS MY KNITTING HAND!!!!. Well took the bandage off after getting home from my shift,which I finished, took up my needles and thankfully was able to knit without a problem.. I was worried. I always have a sock project at work with me for breaks and lunch.

dakatzmeow
04-10-2007, 11:21 PM
she BIT you?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! man, i was an out-of-control labor patient, but i certainly never bit a nurse! i just begged for a c-section. :oops:

i am a tele nurse. i graduated dec 05 and have been working since jan 06. knitting and soaping keep me sane. :muah:

Jeremy
04-10-2007, 11:22 PM
I was a cardiac nurse for nine years before I went into law.

dakatzmeow
04-10-2007, 11:23 PM
back to your stitches......are you on antibiotics? bites can get really nasty. *pats her on the back*

tilllie
04-10-2007, 11:32 PM
I started knitting when I was about 12...Got my LPN in 1972 ( yep), my RN in 1982 and currently work on a Med/surg/Peds unit....

Wrennn
04-11-2007, 12:43 AM
Have worked Med-surg most of the time. The last 6 years worked Oncology. On a sabbatical of sorts right now, I do miss it at times. Took knitting up a few years ago & am hooked! :happydance:

Lisa1216
04-11-2007, 08:44 AM