PDA

View Full Version : which yarn for special pair of socks?

tarrentella
04-14-2007, 12:45 PM
My BF is off to treck the Inca Trail in Peru later this year (how else do would you spend your summer!! :rofl: ) and i thought that it would be nice if i could knt him some good sturdy socks. I have neve knitted socks before, and am going to be using Silvers Sock Tutorial because it is brilliant and comes so highly recomended.

The problem is i have no idea which yarn to use. I think traditional sock yarn would be to lightwieght. These socks need to be fairly thick and sturdy to go well inside hiking boots and to survive for weeks slogging through mountains. Unfortunatly my local LYS's arn't exactly overflowing with a variety of yarns, and im not good at judging the weight/texture of yarns online.

What would you suggest?

chiricahuagal
04-14-2007, 02:23 PM
OT:

My BF is off to treck the Inca Trail in Peru later this year (how else do would you spend your summer!! )

I'm so jealous - I have always wanted to do that. I went to Machu Picchu mumbledy some odd years ago (almost 40 yrs??? eeee) and saw people on the trail, and that's been my dream vacation. One day...

I look forward to the answers because I want to make some good hiking socks too!

Krautie
04-14-2007, 02:36 PM
You can take two threads of traditional sock yarn together - that makes the socks more sturdy than only one thread.

Traditional sock yarn would be the best for your project, I think. It is very robust and that is really important for those socks!

Krautie

tarrentella
04-14-2007, 02:38 PM
Actually i have to agree ... im a bit jealous, id love to be doing it myslef! as it is i can't go because i'll have just gotten back from an archaeological dig in the Philippines, I'm just not a 'sun sand and sangria' holiday sort of person! might have to knit myself a knee mat for the dig :teehee:

Mulderknitter
04-14-2007, 07:06 PM