PDA

View Full Version : - My attempt at writing a pattern

letah75
05-04-2007, 01:39 AM
Hi all. I've never done this before, so I was hoping I could get your opinion as to whether I've written/explained this correctly. Sometime my brain, and other people's brains, just don't work the same.

I'd really appreciate any suggestions/comments you have regarding my attempt at designing and writing my own pattern. Thanks in advance!

I've been wanting a bag that I can take with me when I go to the Farmer's Market, so I don't have to use plastic bags. Well, I haven't been able to find anything that I liked. So I decided I'm going to design my own. I've got the pattern down, and I'm in the process of knitting it up right now. This one is kind of a practice, just to see if I need to do any tweaking. One thing I am going to do is knit it on smaller needles next time. I don't have pictures yet, as...well...I just started knitting it. But here is the pattern:

24" circular needles (I used size 15, but I think next time I'll go down to a size 13)
Yarn: Lion brand cotton, or hemp, or linen (anything worsted weight, strong and not stretchy)

CO 120

Knit 5 rows straight knitting
Join in the round, knit two rounds

Begin Pattern stitch:

Row 1: K3, pm *K2tog, YO* (repeat 27 times), pm, K6, pm, *K2tog, YO* (repeat 27 times), K3
Row 2: Purl
Row 3: K3 *SKP, YO* (repeat 27 times), K6, *SKP, YO* (repeat 27 times), K3
Row 4: Purl

Repeat the Pattern stitch for desired length.

Knit 4 more rows (120 stitches).

Last row: Place 3 stitches on holder, bind off 57 stitches in pattern. Place the next 3 stitches on holder, bind off 57 stitches in pattern.

If you used a size 15 needle, knit the three remaining stitches with a size 13. If you used a size 13 needle, knit the three remaining stitches with a size 11 needle. Knit for desired length (this will be one of the straps). Remember, there will be some stretching, so account for that). When done sew the strap to the opposite side of the bag.