PDA

View Full Version : Needles on Airplanes, I'm scared to do it

dink
05-21-2007, 02:30 PM
I'm taking a lovely 4+ hour flight to see my family over Memorial weekend. I been reading threads on the TSA security, and went to my airline (Southwest) and checked their rules, and that lead to the TSA site where it says it's okay to take them on, etc.

But part of me is afraid to do it, because I'm fearful they are going to be taken away. :pray: I'm wanting to take my Options but I'm fearful because they are so sharp they'll be taken away. I only have one small pair of plastic, and 3 wooden pairs, and the rest are metal.

I read someone said that putting the rubber end caps on may seem as a way of making them look less like a weapon. And then of course the self addressed stamped envelope. I'm just afraid because it's my first time, and well, I won't have any baggage to check should they get taken away!

jeanius80
05-21-2007, 02:40 PM
i used to work for tsa (until i had my dd, now i stay home:mrgreen:) i know they are okay. i would reccomend pulling them out of your carry on bag, lay them flat for the xray. this will make them easy to see. they may still want to open it up and physically look at them though. i would probably have at least one of your options circ put together and in use so they can see that they really are knitting needles. trust me, they are ok.

zip
05-21-2007, 02:40 PM
First, exhibit no fear. ;) It isn't as though you're trying to hide something. Don't point them out to security. Don't ask, "is it ok if I bring these with me?" You've done your homework. If you are denied (which can happen at any airport at any time,) there's a Checkpoint Mailers (http://www.checkpointmailers.com/index.html) kiosk at your airport.

Knitting_Guy
05-21-2007, 02:43 PM
I wouldn't make a big deal about it. Worst case, they tell you to mail them home.

dj
05-21-2007, 02:44 PM