PDA

View Full Version : Entirely OT: art history, archaeology, and forensic science input from anyone?

redwitch
05-30-2007, 02:47 AM
Hi all

I am conducting a large piece of research that I have chosen because I find it extremely interesting. I call it my mini-thesis (or large essay). I thought I would ask whether anyone has any suggestions, input, or experience in this area?
(By the way, if this is something you think is really inappropriate to post about, please feel free to say so. But I see this as a community of people who are not just sharing crafting info, but talk about other things, so I thought I'd ask for input from anyone who has knowledge of this area. Let me know if you are not happy about that.)

I am a postgrad forensic science student, and this essay is on the use of forensic techniques for regulating, enforcing, policing, and monitoring the black market trade in archaeological artefacts and valuable artworks, including provenance and detecting forgeries.

So far this has mostly focused on authenticating artworks (chemical analysis of paints etc./authenticating signatures and so on) purely because I have found more examples of the science being used in this area, more so than archaeology. I'm hoping there are people on the forum who have knowledge in this area, especially archaeologists, but I would like to hear from anyone with a comment! This could include an interesting example that you saw in a documentary years ago, or a journal reference, anything you think might be relevant in any way!

(NB: right now, I am not looking at archaeological forgeries/hoaxes like Piltdown, Archaeoraptor. Again, if you think that this falls under 'help with homework' and shouldn't be seen on the forum, tell me.)

Thanks for input of any kind!

Sarah

Susan P.
05-30-2007, 04:32 AM