PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here! I need your help please.

Yas
06-10-2007, 10:56 AM
Hi everyone !
I'm new to this forum and new to knitting too. I'm teaching myself to knit and do not get any books out here to learn. I did manage to get some beginner books and now have learn't the basic Cast on, knit cast on , knit, purl, increase and decrease.
I just finished one of my first knit project a baby booties for beginners from the Bernat site. It's a basic pattern but was nice to work. I enjoyed doing it.
This is a very friendly group of people and I was hoping that some of you can guide me to some easy beginner projects in baby stuff. I make things for charity for babies. And I'd like to learn doing small projects as they finish fast and give a sense of acheivement.
Typically,I started off with some open work patterned shawl, a project too intimidating and big for a beginner like me with no one around here to help incase I'm stuck. So I ended up frogging out and kept trying other stuff butI keep getting stuck:cry:.
I'm working on a very easy baby cap pattern where you end up making a rectangle and then sewing the whole thing into a tube and bunching up the top portion. This is easy and I'm learning to do the ribbed patten in this. But I'd like to move on to the next step. What projects should I pick up:think:? Please help !!! I
Love ,
Yasmin.
P.S. You can see my knit booties HERE (http://hooksandlaces.blogspot.com/)

auburnchick
06-10-2007, 01:52 PM
The booties are really cute! GREAT job!

I pick patterns that introduce new stitches or concepts. Each project I select is a little more difficult than the previous one. You can come here any time for help!

Welcome to the board and to knitting!

Braden
06-10-2007, 02:15 PM
Ditto what Nathalie said.

nadja la claire
06-10-2007, 03:02 PM
Hi Yasmin :waving: Welcome to the forum. The booties are so cute!!