PDA

View Full Version : OT : What do you drive? UPDATED

vaknitter
06-15-2007, 09:15 PM
Looks like my DH and I may be car shopping this weekend so thought I would see what ya'all like to drive or don't like to drive for that matter.

We are looking for something with a roof rack to carry kayaks, manual transmission, 4 doors, and plenty of room for 2 dogs and kids to come in a few years. He is leaning towards the Subaru Forrester and I am leaning towards the Outback. I don't like the options package on the Forrester, seats are uncomfy, and NO leg room in back. LOVE the Outback.

Thanks for your help

P.S. would it be rude to take my knitting car shopping? Had to unravel an entire bag last night and it is a gift that needs to get on its way.

Knitting_Guy
06-15-2007, 09:19 PM
Nah it wouldn't be rude. Take it with you.

I drive a big rig for a living so when I am off work I "drive" a recumbent bicycle. I don't own a car.

figaro
06-15-2007, 09:21 PM
We have a 2005 Chevy Suburban and I love it. We bought it knowing that we would drive it across country with 3 kids, a 75 lb dog and my cat and it was perfect for us.

And no, I do not think it would be rude to take knitting car shopping!

jodstr2
06-15-2007, 09:43 PM
as soon as I read kayak, stickshift, dogs, 4 doors, I thought Subaru! we used to have a '98 Impreza Outback as a daily driver when CV had his turbo SLC. we loved the wagon! we sold it because after CV got the S4, we didn't need 3 cars.

we have an '01 Audi S4 and an '04 VW R32. both 6 speed, both AWD.

good luck with your car search. it's perfectly fine to take your knitting with you. you are the customer and these guys make a lot of money off you when you buy the car. be yourself, is knitting is you, then knit. :D

tootie44
06-15-2007, 09:47 PM
I had an Outback for a couple of years that I really loved. Unfortunately we had to sell it to get a wheelchair accessible mini van, but I still miss it.

Doodknitwit
06-15-2007, 09:53 PM