PDA

View Full Version : WIP ... First circular needles, scary!

Pudify
07-06-2007, 05:49 AM
Hi folks!

Im new to knitting (came from mainly wet and some dry, felting) and was recently intrigued by circular needles. I assume they are for such things as .. err .. socks? Perhaps? Of course, I now cannot think of anything they are actualy used for xD

Anywho! I got all gung-ho and bought a pair of wood 4.5mm (No.7?) 60cm circular needle, got out some awfull 'practice acrylic' wool and cast on. Now, ive probably cast on too many stitches .. or, not enough. They seem to go all way around the needles, so thats good enough for me for now xD Ive knitted about 6 or 7 or .. something rows around, and im just wondering what to do from here :D I seem to be knitting some kind of tubular .. thing. Perhaps a middle-of-a-cat warmer?

Does anyone out there have any ideas of what I could do with this? Im not looking for anything hard .. or even anything intermediate lol, I only know how to knit, and seem to keep putting off learning to purl. So any random ideas, please let me know!

Its "bad" wool, so it dosnt really matter what happens to it, and this is mainly just to get a feel for a circular needle .. because I think they are spiffy, and one day, far far in the future, I would like to actualy make something 'real' and useful with them xD

I really should go and learn to purl now .. or ... when I get the courage :D

Cheers,
-Pud.

nonny2t
07-06-2007, 07:24 AM
I know that when I started with circulars, I did the same thing, ended up with endless stitches somehow. Once you get the hang of them, they are terrific and the great thing is knitting just knit stitches on circs makes stockinette stitch!!!